Heaven on Earth

Tehri Garhwal

Coordinates 30.38°N 78.48°°E
Country India
State Uttarakhand
Division Garhwal
Districs Tehri Garhwal
Time zone IST (UTC+5:30)
Pin code 249146
Vehicle registration UK-09
Avg. summer temperature 3°C to 9°C
Avg. winter temperature 15°C to 30°C
Telephone code
Website tehri.nic.in
Local Language Garhwali

Temples In Tehri Garhwal

  • Kedarnath Temple
  • Kalinka Mata Mandir Badkhem, Tehri Garhwal
  • Nagaraja mandir pabela
  • Koteshwar Mahadev Temple
  • Dhansingh Devta
  • Ghantakaran Mandir , Maituli Sera Thatyur
  • Karna Temple
  • Khait Temple
  • Surkhanda Devi Temple
  • Satyeshwar Mandir
  • Shiv Mandir Bageshwar Mahadev
  • Kunjapuri Devi Mandir
  • Laxmi Narayan Temple
  • Durga Mandir
  • Dewalsari Mahadev Mandir
  • Shri Bhairap Nath Mandir, Goresor, Kangra
  • Chandrabadni Mata Temple
  • Rathi Devata Temple Maun
  • Maa Chandrabadni Temple
  • Temples Tehri Garhwal


Tehri Garhwal

Welcome To Tehri Garhwal

1 / 12
Chamba Tehri Garhwal
2 / 12
City View Tehri Garhwal
3 / 12
Dam Tehri Garhwal
4 / 12
Devprayag Tehri Garhwal
5 / 12
Goat Swayamvar In Tehri Garhwal
6 / 12
House Tehri Garhwal
7 / 12
Villege Corn Tehri Garhwal
8 / 12
Sangam Of Rivers Tehri Garhwal
9 / 12
Snowfall Tehri Garhwal
10/ 12
Women Tales From Tehri Garhwal
11 / 12
The Charming Corn Tehri Garhwal
12 / 12
The Goat Village Tehri Garhwal

Tehri Garhwal is one of the largest districts in the hill state of Uttarakhand, India. Its administrative headquarters is at New Tehri. The district has a population of 618, 931 (2011 census), a 2.35% increase over the previous decade. It is surrounded by Rudraprayag District in the east, Dehradun District in the west, Uttarkashi District in the north, and Pauri Garhwal District in the south.
The name Tehri has been derived from Trihari, signifying a place that washes away the three types of sins – sins born out of Mansa, Vacha and Karmana or thought, word and deed, respectively. Garh in Hindi means fort.


Prior to 888 AD, the region was divided into 52 garhs which were ruled by independent kings. These garhs were brought into one province by Kanakpal, the prince of Malwa. Kanakpal, on his visit to Badrinath, had met the then mightiest king Bhanu Pratap who later married his only daughter to the prince and handed over his kingdom to him. Kanakpal singh and his descendants gradually conquered all the garhs and ruled the whole of Garhwal Kingdom for the next 915 years, up to 1803.

Garhwal Kingdom:
Tehri Garhwal or Garhwal Kingdom, was a princely state, ruled by the Parmar (Shah) dynasty. Later, it became a part of the Punjab Hill States Agency of British India, which consists of the present day Tehri Garhwal District and most of the Uttarkashi district. In 1901, it had an area of about 4,180 square miles (10,800 km2) and a population of 268,885. The ruler was given the title of raja, but after 1913, he was honoured with the title of Maharaja. The ruler was entitled to salutes of 11 guns and had a privy purse of rupees 300,000. The princely state acceded to India on 1 August 1949.

Gorkha Rule:
In 1803, the Gorkhas took over Garhwal.[2] Gorkha army believed that all pahari people should be under one rule and one king. The Gorkha army generals Subba Amar Singh, Hastidal Chautariya, Bamshah Chautariya and Ranjor Thapa commanded a huge army in the crusade against King Pradyumna Shah and his sons Kuwar Parakrama Shah and Kuwar Pritam Shah. A 12,000-strong army fought with the Gorkhas at Khurhbure where the king was killed. Gradually, the Gorkhas captured Dehradun, Saharanpur, Kangada and Shimla and later on extended their kingdom up to Kangara.
From 1787 to 1812, the Gorkhas captured nearly 200 villages which were under the control of the East India Company. The British argued with the king of Nepal but to no avail. Finally, the Gurkha War (Anglo-Nepalese War) began in 1814, when an army of 8,000 under Major General Marley attacked Kathmandu. Four thousand soldiers under Major General Wood started an operation from Gorakhpur and 3,500 soldiers attempted to take over Dehradun under Major General Zileswy, where a Gorkha army of 300–400 was led by Balbhadra Thapa. The Gorkhas fought a fierce battle and crushed the British, who were reinforced by soldiers and cannons. Finally, the British army captured Dehradun on 30 November 1814.
The British Army then moved towards Kumaon. After a fierce battle, the Gorkha commanders Hastidal and Jayrakha were killed at Vinayathal. The war ended with the Sugauli Treaty, signed on 2 December 1815 and ratified on 4 March 1816 by Gorkha supreme commander Bamshah and thus, British rule started in the hills. The East India Company then merged Kumaon, Dehradun and east Garhwal into the British Empire while west Garhwal was given to Sudarshan Shah which then became known as Tehri Riyasat. This was the start of the end of the Khas culture in central pahari area. Hindi has taken over as the language and pahari people culture was usurped by the culture of the plains - Delhi and Uttar Pradesh.

New capital:
King Sudarshan Shah established his capital at Tehri town and afterwards his successors Pratap Shah, Kirti Shah and Narendra Shah established their capital at Pratap Nagar, Kirtinagar and Narendra Nagar, respectively. Their dynasty ruled over this region from 1815 to 1949. During the Quit India Movement people of this region actively worked for the independence of the country. Ultimately, when the country was declared independent in 1947, the inhabitants of Tehri Riyasat (Tehri State) started their movement to free themselves from the clutches of the maharaja.
Due to this movement, the situation became out of his control and it was difficult for him to rule over the region. Consequently, the 60th king of Pawar Vansh, Manvendra Shah, accepted the sovereignty of the Indian government. Thus, in August 1949, Tehri Riyasat was merged into Uttar Pradesh and was given the status of a new district, the Rudraprayag district. Subsequently, on 24 February 1960, the state government separated its one tehsil which was given the status of a separate district named Uttarkashi. Former royal palace of the Maharaja of Tehri Garhwal at Narendra Nagar, now houses the Ananda–In the Himalayas spa, established 2000.


Dry season crops include wheat, barley, masoor, Bengal and red gram, rape seed and mustard, and pea. Wet season crops include rice, barnyard millet, finger millet, black gram, sesame and soybean. Various fruits and spices grow in the district also.


Home | Kumaon | Garhwal | Photos | Blogs | Contact Us

Copyright © 2017

Devbhoomi Darshan